Just got back from four days in Vegas – exhausting in itself, but I’ve gotta’ tell you: There’s no better rodeo than the National Finals Rodeo at the Thomas & Mack Center in Las Vegas. I spend more time than I want to admit to attending rodeos
throughout the year. What with my husband Bob team roping, my son Travis team roping, and my two grandchildren barrel racing, there aren’t too many summer and fall evenings that aren’t spent in a rodeo arena. I’m not complaining, mind you; there are lots of worse places a person could spend their time. BUT, the events can drag on a bit after your significant other has finished their event. . . Bringing me to my point, that the NFR in Vegas is one amazing well run rodeo. They manage to cram in the top ten qualifiers from around the country in all events in under three hours!! You barely have time to get a beer! We had magnificent seats in the Gold Buckle section (read: Bull Slobber Area) courtesy of Wrangler Mfg. (thank you Wrangler, we promise to continue to sell lots of jeans) Four rows up from the arena floor is the perfect spot to view all the events – the roughstock flies by right in front of you – too fast and close to even focus my camera. . . The ropers and bulldoggers were almost in our laps as they vied for fast times. Simply awesome! If you ever get a chance, and you think you’re tough enough to weather three or four days in Vegas, put the NFR on your vaca radar. It’s worth every penny – unless you linger too long at the roulette table, those pennies are on you.

About cowgirlbing

Co-president of Cowboy Shop in Pinedale, Wyoming.

2 responses »

  1. I just found your blog. How cool is that!

Leave a Reply

